Read 2550 times

Educational Materials
« on: December 03, 2009, 08:16:49 am »
Hello all,

I was just notified that the Office of Education has put 250,000 Won at my disposal, specifically me the Native Teacher, to buy educational materials for either my students or my teacher workshops. My students are in middle school, but we live in Goheung-eup which is pretty rural so they are of a lower level. I'm wondering if others use or know of any materials that they would like to recommend. This is what I've thought of:

1. Additional subscriptions to the Junior Herald (English newspaper for students)

2. Storybooks; but I don't know of a particular series that would be good

3. Some appropriate movies might be nice, put I'm new to this field an do not know any

Thanks,

John

Re: Educational Materials
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 08:24:11 am »
250k would buy alot of soju for your schools administrators..... .... Just my 20 won.  :o

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 02:29:39 pm »
You can buy a lot of pecans with 250K!

That's an inside joke for you folks not in Goheung.  :-*

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2009, 02:39:37 pm »
On a helpful note:

Scrabble is always good and I would buy extra tiles if possible. They are very useful.

A monopoly game could be good for extra classes - it would teach counting money in English and such. Make sure its an older game with the paper money and not the newer version with the credit card.

For movies, most Pixar movies play well with middle-school kids. Stuff like Toy Story (is 3 the latest one?) or the new movie Up. The Disney stuff usually goes well. Try to browse for a movie with a deeper meaning if possible so the more advanced students have something to think about. WALL-E falls into this group with the underlying message about protecting the environment.