Read 1161 times

Starting the process...
« on: June 22, 2016, 01:19:06 am »
I'm currently a university student set to graduate in the spring of 2017, and I want to teach in S. Korea in fall 2017. I was wondering what a good first step to take in this process would be, and what steps I can actually take while I'm waiting to graduate? If there is a forum or post that already explains the process of becoming and english teacher in Korea, please link me to it! I feel so lost and I don't know where to begin with things like background checks, visas, etc.

I just don't want to be rushing to get everything together at the last minute, and I also don't know when schools start their hiring periods for fall and spring.

Re: Starting the process...
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2016, 07:38:21 am »
The best thing you can do at this stage is start your research into what documents you will need for the route you want to take.

I suggest working with either a recruiter (Korvia for example) or directly with a representative from a program like EPIK, GEPIK or TaLK. They can help you with the finding of a job and with deadlines.

You'll need some sort of TEFL/TESOL certificate. Some colleges will offer a program, and there are online courses as well.

Also, take the time to research the culture. Day to day living and the like. Make sure you like the food and can live with the climate. Make a clear evaluation of yourself as well. Can you live in a small "rural" community? Do you have to be in a large city? Do you mind riding the bus to work? Do you want to work with elementary school students or older students? Public school or Hagwon?

You're definitely starting out on the right foot by showing interest this early. Use the time wisely and do some research. Email people. Ask questions.

• gnomon
  • Veteran

• February 05, 2014, 01:24:34 pm
    • Gunpo
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2016, 07:43:40 am »