Read 2772 times

• sinhead
  • Adventurer

• February 03, 2016, 04:15:45 pm
    • Australia
One-on-one tutoring with the Vice Principal
« on: June 08, 2016, 01:46:31 pm »
So I've been at my school for about a week, and my coteacher told me today that our Vice Principal was hoping for some short, one-on-one English tutoring with me. Apparently he's travelling overseas this year, which he's avoided doing in the past because he's not confident with his English skills. He basically wants a crash course in travel related language e.g. airports, hotels, directions, checking in, etc.

I don't think they've had a NET here before, and she said it would be very brief. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to go about this with the VP? I'm new to teaching entirely, let alone adult beginners who are also my superiors. Any help / suggestions / resources would be appreciated!

Re: One-on-one tutoring with the Vice Principal
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 01:57:35 pm »
You could just do lots and lots of role plays.    Give example questions and answers and reinforce the idea that sometimes a simple noun and verb combination will get you what you want.

• ryncarr
  • Explorer

• June 29, 2015, 07:53:17 am
    • Hadan
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2016, 02:45:33 pm »
I feel for you.

There are books available for this type of stuff. Search 'English for specific purposes.'

Start of with numbers, then prices, questions. Then directions. Then food.

You could use the grade 5 and 6 books (chapters on these topics) as a guide then add your own material.

Goodluck

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2016, 02:57:08 pm »
Boggles world has everything you are looking for in role plays. Here is the link.

http://bogglesworldesl.com/survivalESL.htm

• sinhead
  • Adventurer

• February 03, 2016, 04:15:45 pm
    • Australia
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2016, 07:23:59 am »
Awesome, thanks guys. Those role plays from Boggles World are great!

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2016, 07:58:20 am »