Read 1538 times

Any middle schools left in Seoul?
« on: April 28, 2016, 09:21:00 am »
Ambitious BUT I'm a GEPIK teacher and I'm looking to move into Seoul next year. Currently I teach at a public elementary school but I'd love to teach at a middle school in Seoul.

Are there any such positions left? If not what are your opinions of middle school teaching at private schools and hagwons (distinction here)?

Re: Any middle schools left in Seoul?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 12:08:47 pm »
I am at a middle school in Seoul. We have already finished our intention of renewal forms, so my suggestion is to call each office of education, and talk to the person that oversees the native teachers. From there, maybe you can set up an in person interview. Good luck!

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2016, 12:14:32 pm »
I am at a middle school in Seoul. We have already finished our intention of renewal forms, so my suggestion is to call each office of education, and talk to the person that oversees the native teachers. From there, maybe you can set up an in person interview. Good luck!

As in there will be no more NETs at your school after your contract is over?

• Inge1415
  • Veteran

• August 23, 2014, 09:43:50 am
    • Seoul, South Korea
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2016, 12:47:38 pm »
It shrinks every year but they are spot on about contacting the coordinator. However SMOE's coordinator just resigned a few days ago and his replacement I believe isn't starting full time until later in May? (correct me if I'm wrong on that)

From what I have gathered, some teachers that renew are being moved to elementary, some teachers are staying in middle school, but they are definitely phasing middle school out. 
ALSO: They are already towards the end of their hiring process. Interviews have been done, and in May people should start hearing if they got into Seoul, placements announced the last day of orientation in August...Are you thinking of moving in February? 

• Paul
  • Featured Contributor