Read 3474 times

Should I stay or go?
« on: January 21, 2016, 03:22:06 pm »
Not sure if this is the right thread for my post as it covers a lot.

I have been in Korea since September, teaching in an elementary school (EPIK). The school/job is fine- not great but not awful either. The thing is, I am a qualified/certified elementary school teacher in my home country too and I have 6 years teaching experience there. I still have my old job- I'm on a career break and I have to let them know in the next 3 weeks whether or not I am coming back after 1 year or if I want to extend my career break for a second year. I don't know what to do.

My job is better in my home country with a lot more vacation time. However, here, I have more fun at the weekends and it's more of an adventure. I also like having my own apartment, something which I can't afford at home. I know there are international schools in Seoul, but the thing is that I'm not American/Canadian/British- and most of the international schools seem to only be interested in people from these places.

Has anyone been through a similar dilemma? Is the 2nd year here much more boring? Does the novelty wear off quickly? Btw, I am in my early 30s so I feel like this is my last big adventure before I settle down.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2016, 09:24:56 pm by kimchiyum »

• pjst
  • Veteran

• April 30, 2013, 02:02:07 pm
    • Seoul, South Korea
Re: Should I stay or go?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2016, 03:35:43 pm »
For IS's, what matters most is 1. Are you certified in an English-speaking country? and 2. do you have experience? For you, it's yes to both questions. 6 years of experience is a good selling point, plus you're already in-country so easier to interview/hire.

Check out https://www.tieonline.com/ - it's a subscription service, but $39 gets you a year of access. I've seen several jobs for elementary school teachers on offer here in Korea for next school year.