Read 2129 times

Just looking for a bit of advice, guidance, or insight.

I just found out that my younger brother (high school) is going to be a father. As you can imagine, this is a big deal in my family, especially for my mother. I just finished skyping with her, and she's a mess. I feel so sad for her. I feel really helpless since I'm here in Korea, and all of this drama is happening in California. While my family is going through a crisis, I'm about to be partying it up Thailand, playing with elephants and whatnot. I can't help but feel guilty.

I suppose all I can do is listen, and be supportive, but is there anything else one can do when not physically present?

This is my first time living so far away from home. For those of you who have experienced family issues/tragedy/whatever while abroad, how do you cope? What all can one do?

Thanks in advance for any and all words of wisdom.

• annataleen
  • Moderator LVL 1

• May 02, 2014, 01:27:07 pm
    • Incheon
Re: How to deal with family drama/issues back home when you're so far away?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 06:50:03 am »
Oh Soggysocks, I think some of us are over here to get away from family drama  :P

Seriously, I am sorry your family is going through a hard time and that you feel bad you are not with them.

First, realize you are an adult now and many adults move away from home anyway. I suppose, being from California, maybe you would end up close to your family anyway. I am from a very rural area, so even if I was still in the U.S., I would probably be far away from home anyway. Even California is a big place. Anyway...a person can't come home for crisis that happens. You have your own life to lead and that is ok!