Read 1310 times

• BradwMD
  • Newgookin

• November 29, 2011, 02:33:59 am
    • United States
Graduate School Applications - Parents Information
« on: October 09, 2015, 07:14:54 am »
I'm planning to eventually within the year drop teaching and attend one of the GSIS programs as well as apply for the Korean Government Scholarship. However, from looking at the applications (for both the scholarship and the graduate schools themselves) I noticed that in order to be considered for International Student admissions you have to prove that your parents are not Korean citizens through some means such as their passport pages or birth certificate.

However, unfortunately I never had the best relationship with my parents growing up, and for my own mental health I ceased contact with them ever since I graduated university.  I know that if I were to contact them again to ask for some documents they would just tell me to 'figure it out yourself and f**k off" basically. Therefore it would be impossible for me to show some sort of official proof that they are looking for...

Am I basically just shit out of luck in my situation? It seems like Korean gov't really likes to assume everyone just has a tight knit relationship with ones parents (since thats the way Korean culture is anyways) but..does anyone here have any experience with graduate school in Korea and know if you can bypass showing parents proof of citizenship? Or if there is a way to do it without personally involving your parents?

Re: Graduate School Applications - Parents Information
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2015, 10:19:50 am »