Read 2690 times

• Imogen1991
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• March 18, 2015, 12:26:47 am
    • Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Afterschool classes
« on: May 06, 2015, 08:34:59 am »
Hi, hoping to get some advice

I have just started a new (public school) contract here in Korea and as well as the 22 hours maximum i also have to teach 3 afterschool classes (paid extra)

the way this is spread out means that i currently have to teach 7 classes on mondays and wednesdays
i am a first time teacher and i am completely overwhelmed by this, i dont know how i will fit in planning everything and im feeling very stressed

i had been told by the previous teacher as well as JLP that this was optional so i told my co-t i did not want to teach these extra classes but she said that i should teach them because if not they will have to hire someone else to teach them.

i reallly dont want to do them as i dont see how i can fit it all in but i dont know how to tell her, given that i have already tried to broach the subject before.

can anyone give me any advice? eek.thank you

Re: Afterschool classes
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2015, 08:51:24 am »
Hey, welcome to Korea!

I also used to have to teach 4 after school classes, making my total teaching hours to be 26 hours. I know it can seem overwhelming at first but after about 2-3 weeks, you really get the hang of things and it's easy. Are you given a textbook? If not, I would ask the school if you guys can go looking for one. Makes life a lot easier.. I used to teach my own stuff in AS classes which was kinda hell thinking of new stuff to teach every week. But then we switched to textbook and it was smooooothhhhhhhhhhh hh and the kids were much better behaved.

I would give it a go before saying no to it... the extra money does make a big difference...
But then again... think carefully because you'll have to sign another contract for after school classes meaning you'll be teaching it for a year...ask for textbook...

• afheil89
  • Veteran