Read 2461 times

• sweetkat
  • Veteran

• March 02, 2011, 01:35:29 pm
    • Korea
In class component
« on: April 02, 2015, 05:04:11 am »
I have been an ESL teacher here for 8 years.  Seven of them in EPIK.  And my current office of education did a really weird NET restructuring that leaves me out of a job in September.  So I have 100 hr online TESOL.  And i had enrolled in a course with an in class component in three weeks. But i just received an email saying they cancelled it.  A.  with my experience, is it necessary for me to acquire the in class component? B.  If so, does anyone know anywhere in Korea that offers it?

I am doing everything i can now to optimize the likelihood of getting another job.  i love teaching kids here, and if i had a choice i would stay at my same school.

• country09
  • Expert Waygook

• January 05, 2011, 10:04:21 am
Re: In class component
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2015, 08:15:59 am »
I don't think it will matter to much when looking for a job. It will matter though when they decide to pay you. I had to take the in class component when my education office suddenly decided it was important. I had been here for 4 years teaching at public schools. I would of dropped down two pay levels all because of this stupid crap. I went up to Seoul for a weekend and completed the course. Unfortunately I heard that the guys do not run the course anymore.

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2015, 08:55:38 am »
Some education offices require it now.
Korean Horizons offers a weekend course through i-to-i TEFL; is this the one that was cancelled? If not, try for that one.
Otherwise...weekend trip to Hong Kong for the same (i-to-i) course.

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2015, 08:55:39 am »
Yeah, expecting teachers to have actually had some practical training in teaching. crazy eh?

« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2015, 10:19:59 am »
Yeah, expecting teachers to have actually had some practical training in teaching. crazy eh?

I have been an ESL teacher here for 8 years.