Read 1686 times

Hi. I am a licensed elementary/primary school teacher and want to come to Korea for a year or 2. I have applied for a career break from my current teaching job so I am free from July 2015- September 2016 (and can extend).  I have applied for EPIK and will also apply for GEPIK when the time comes. I previously researched primary school jobs, just with Google, but from what I saw- the schools only taught an American or British curriculum (I'm Irish). Can anyone give me advice?

• waygo0k
  • The Legend

• September 27, 2011, 11:51:01 am
    • Chungnam
In EPIK/GEPIK schools, they teach the Korean curriculum. Some foreign teachers are asked to teach the curriculum, others are asked too make their own.

"International schools" (very loose term here) usually subscribe to US (and in extremely few cases UK) curricula.

• travelinpantsgirl
  • Moderator - LVL 2

• September 09, 2010, 06:00:18 pm
    • Seoul
    more
Hi. I don't know what your knowledge is of teaching in Korean public schools but as a licensed teacher, you might be really frustrated and bored. In most cases, you don't really teach they way you have been trained to UNLESS you get placed in a high school, sometimes middle schools. But most (if not all) elementary school placements are just foreigner assistants. There are some exceptions, but a lot of those exceptions come with the no co-teacher aspect so you won't get any help with translations or classroom management. If you can afford it, my suggestion is to come to Korea on a working holiday H-1 visa (if you're 30 or under) or visitor visa (this is more a pain but doable) and apply to international schools and private elementary schools. There are some good ones in north Seoul. There are also some bad ones so beware. Also, some of the International schools have separate arm/branch that only teaches the IB curriculum if you're familiar with that.
Anyway, just my two cents since you are experienced and licensed. Good luck!