Read 3258 times

• weirdgirlinkorea
  • Moderator - LVL 2

• September 09, 2010, 06:00:18 pm
    • Seoul
    more
Are you horrible at interviews?
« on: January 29, 2015, 08:56:27 am »
Is anyone here also horrible at interviews? I am an introvert but when I am teaching a class I am different person, very outgoing. So my demos make me seem like a split personality when I interview. I am a huge thinker and so because you don't get a tremendous amount of time to think your answers through in interviews, I usually suck. I am a writer and a perfectionist so I sometimes, depending on the question fumble through the answers but if I had been asked to write my answers I would've impressed them thoroughly.

I also think I've allowed my really bad experience this year (really not nice CT [I'm putting it mildly]) to affect my confidence despite the fact that I know my strengths as a teacher.

Do you any of you suffer from this? If so, how do you deal with it?

I've bombed (or so I feel because I didn't get hired) at three of the most important interviews of my career here. So I am looking to see what others do in this situation.

Ignoranţa este adesea o boală fatal şi cretin nu poate fi vindecata.

Re: Are you horrible at interviews?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2015, 09:14:42 am »
I consider myself an introvert too, and I've always thought interviews, and the whole recruitment process is a farce.  That said, I can't really think of a better way for it to be done.

Know your strengths as a teacher, and prepare and practice a whole range of of answers that you could be asked. It's not difficult to anticipate.

Don't feel you have to be a perfectionist in an interview. They want to see a real person, they can connect with.

Make a note of all you have achieved in your career so far, and dig into the details of what actions and decisions you took. Then in the interview base your answers on past experiences, and share those examples.  They will be easier to talk about.