Read 7649 times

• krissyboo75
  • Expert Waygook

• September 27, 2011, 01:01:39 pm
    • Gyeongsanbuk-do, South Korea
    more
No control in the class room; When students say "No"
« on: December 02, 2014, 02:23:41 pm »
I am working at a mixed middle school. I've been working in Korea with EPIK for over 3 years, and was at a boys high school. I've never had as many problems with my classes as I do now.

The problem is both the teacher and the students.  The student are not at a very high level, and the ones who are act like angels. But I make my lessons easy enough for them. They refuse to do anything. Games? don't want to play? Easy lessons? too boring. God forbid I try to make them do worksheets. They talk back. They say flat out no, they wont do it. I tell them to sit in their seat. "No"  Stop talking. "They ignore me". I've gotten quite angry before and they have called me "crazy".

Where is my co teacher in all of this? Sleeping at the back of the class, or talking on his phone, or sometimes not even in the room. They are low level enough that I need his help. He laughs and jokes with them when I am trying to teach. I feel like a lot of the time HE is learning from the lessons... I've complained to another teacher once, shes even spoken to the VP who spoke to him. Nothing changed. I feel like its such a waste of my time for me to try and teach the classes I have with this teacher because I feel like I am speaking to 1 or 2 students and the wall.   I'm frustrated.  They never get punished. He makes them stand at the back? what does that do? I try to kick them out? He says no just stand at the back....  Every once in a while the VP checks in now, and they all perk up and start listening. The second he is gone they go back to whatever they were doing. 

The other teachers suggestions "just ignore them." Kind of hard when its 90% of the class right?