Read 2029 times

• koreanstar
  • Veteran

• April 07, 2011, 02:35:08 pm
    • seongnam, south korea
Work Experience? Do I Mention it or Not?
« on: June 10, 2014, 09:38:10 am »
Hello my fellow beloved Waygookins or shall I say Waygookers?

First my background is necessary to know it relates to my question. I taught for 5 years in Korea at two different middle schools and did a pretty great job there at both schools. I left last fall to go back home and see my family due to a family urgency.
Now the serious question I have to ask all you guys, I've heard many people in schools in Korea say that if anybody wants to get hired for schools there, having experience is a detriment to job placement. Schools would like to hire newbies for reasons of wage and "to mold newbies" as they see fit. So the question is, guys, do you think it'd be wise to lie on my resume and say that I have never taught in Korea? Or just be honest and say the truth?

BTW, I am a Korean-American, which could hurt my chances of getting hired even more in the first place

For any comments, questions and replies I would very appreciative.
Thanks guys

• acousticr
  • Expert Waygook

• January 24, 2013, 11:42:50 am
    • Gyeonggi
    more
Re: Work Experience? Do I Mention it or Not?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2014, 09:40:34 am »
That'd be a pretty big lie. I wouldn't recommend it.
$10 off your first order at iHerb.com with this code: BPC852

• mikeD
  • Super Waygook

• March 31, 2013, 07:46:49 pm
    • Geoje, South Korea
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2014, 09:41:15 am »
It seems strange that you would have to lie about your experience which is a positive thing. At the same time, your pay would be bumped way down. I would be honest and hope to get a job where you want with a nice starting pay due to your experience. If you lie it could end up bad. Hope it works out for you!

• Kyndo
  • Moderator LVL 1

• March 03, 2011, 09:45:24 am
    • Gyeongsangbuk-do
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2014, 09:44:45 am »