Read 3818 times

How much money will I need to do a masters next year?
« on: April 18, 2014, 11:43:50 pm »
I'm a teacher at the moment but I'm thinking about doing a masters degree next year. I'm doing some basic research and can't find anything on how much it will cost me to live in Korea as a student in Seoul.

I would also like to know if it's possible to work and study at the same time?
Can I take 4 semesters a year as a part time student? This is what I have been told.
Does anyone know of someone who's graduated from a British university and is doing a masters here?.....I'm sure there are lots of people.

I know It's hard to answer any question on the cost of living because we all have different standards. An estimate would be appreciated. Or perhaps there is a student out there who would like to share their spending with us.

• SpaceRook
  • Expert Waygook

• November 18, 2010, 11:54:36 am
    • South Korea
Re: How much money will I need to do a masters next year?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2014, 11:55:37 am »
There is no way we can possibly answer this question.  You need to research housing, visa rules regarding education and work, and how much you spend monthly on food and amenities.

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 01:35:51 pm »
OP, it is very possible to work and study at the same time, but it really depends on many factors.
1. What type of work are you planning on doing. If you're talking about teaching English in a public school then sure. It's very doable and I'm doing that myself.
2. What your major will be. I'm not doing Grad school at a Univ. here in Korea. I am doing it online from one back home in the states.