Read 2923 times

Hoping to apply for teaching in Korea
« on: April 16, 2014, 07:31:18 pm »
Hello

I'm so happy I've stumbled across this site!! I honestly don't know where to start in devouring the information!

I got my CELTA qualification last May and am really interested in applying to work in Korea, possibly Seoul or Busan as I feel that I'm a active person and want lots of opportunities  to keep me busy. I've got so many questions I need to ask and I simply can't seem to get them answered.

I decided that public school was more suitable for me as I prefer to work during the day and enjoy my evenings, plus I am not particularly assertive so a pushy boss would be my nightmare.

I downloaded the application ages ago to apply to SMEO and emailed the contact to clarify some of the information provided and still haven't received a reply back - it doesn't bode well. Am I better going through a recruiter as opposed to direct?

I've no experience beyond the 6 hours I gained on my CELTA - will I receive some support in the beginning? Is support available for finding accommodation? Although I gather its provided / paid for - how is this? 

I'm assuming that I will pay my flight to get to Korea but then some information mentions that they will pay your flights? How does this work?

How do they pay you - will I need a Korean bank account? Can I apply to be considered by the different schemes (EPIK / GEPIK) too if I wish or is that not allowed.

In order to complete the teaching philosophy aspect of the application what do they actually want as I am really struggling with my lack of experience.

Thank you for any answers or just for getting in touch

Rose

Re: Hoping to apply for teaching in Korea
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2014, 07:19:24 am »
I hate to burst your bubble but Seoul and Busan are probaly the two hardest cities to get into.
Stay hungry. Stay foolish. Jobs (2005)

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2014, 07:34:58 am »