Read 10363 times

Middle School Students Don't Like Anything
« on: April 15, 2014, 08:12:00 pm »
   First, I'd like to mention that I've been teaching ESL in both Korea and the States for about 5 years, and I've done all the tricks in the book: hangman, bomb games, 2 truths and 1 lie, minimal pairs pronunciation mazes, role-plays, interview worksheets, card games, games with dice, charades, noon-chi game--the list goes on and on...  I've taught a wide range of  students from little 5-year-old booger-eaters all the way to pruney old ladies.  I've recently returned to Korea to teach again, and was placed in a middle school (again).  But something just isn't clicking at this school for some reason; it's like the kids are either zombies who just stare into space while I'm teaching, or rude 90-pound punks who think they're tough guys--adorable.  I have to teach the speaking section out of the textbooks, which are extremely sparse dialogues I might add, like two or three lines.  I try to spice things up, but I just get...nothing.  Anyone here work at a school like that who might have some words of wisdom?  I've just recently found this site and am digging all the ideas floating around.   I've used quite a bit of them (I'll post some of my own lessons and ideas, too.) but most of it just flops.
I'm not sure if I got placed in a crappy school, or if I've just lost my touch :sad:

Re: Middle School Students Don't Like Anything
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2014, 07:32:37 am »
Also, it depends on how you act when you get the new 1st graders.

I have my 1st graders (and my previous 1st graders who are now in 2nd grade) trained to read questions as a class and such.

It's about both parties understanding expectations and upholding them.

• Gekokujou
  • Veteran

• April 29, 2011, 01:27:12 pm
    • South Korea
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2014, 07:35:18 am »