Read 1955 times

E-2 Visa Prohibits me from Teaching Kindergarten at my School?
« on: February 12, 2014, 11:09:05 am »
I'm an EPIK teacher at a public Elementary school and I've been teaching Kindergarten classes here since I was hired in August.  My school is one of the poorest schools in my area, the kid's parents don't have money for private academies, and I'm often their only native English teacher.  I teach them once a week "volunteer" status, (although I am paid 30,000 won per class so not really "volunteer").

My Kindergarten coteacher told me today that some of the other elementary school parents in the area are jealous that my school has a native teacher teaching kindergarten while their school does not.  Even though many of the other school's parents can easily afford to send their kids to private academies (as my school's parents cannot) they insist I not be allowed to teach kindergarten.

They've contacted the ministry of education and apparently my E-2 visa is only for Elementary School students and since kindergarten is not technically elementary school I'm not allowed to teach them.

I want to help out my coteacher but I don't want to go against my visa or the ministry of education.  She's getting lots of pressure from parents who cannot afford private academies.  Any thoughts or advice?

• theory_
  • Veteran

• March 12, 2013, 09:18:32 am
    • south korea
Re: E-2 Visa Prohibits me from Teaching Kindergarten at my School?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2014, 11:17:44 am »