Read 1524 times

• katsy3g4
  • Veteran

• August 20, 2011, 05:14:36 pm
    • Seoul, South Korea
Looking to move from public to hagwon - thoughts?
« on: January 27, 2014, 02:02:18 pm »
I've been teaching in a public school through EPIK for about three years now and have had a great experience with my school and a lot of fun with my kids. These days I've been wanting to move on to a new teaching platform and I was wondering if anyone else has done this and what their experience with it has been.

I teach elementary school, 4th through 6th grade, and I feel like I've learned a lot since becoming a teacher with EPIK. My kids are interesting and fun but lately I really want to have a new challenge and I think adult education would bring it. I know there are hagwons like Pagoda and YBM that offer positions to do just that, but everywhere I look there seems to be a glaringly awful review that makes me think twice about leaving my enjoyable teaching situation. I really want to stretch myself and have the experience of teaching adult learners, but I'm quite honestly nervous that I might leave something that's great to start something that's not.

Has anyone else been in this boat or has gone ahead and gotten an adult hagwon job? How has it been and did you regret leaving your past employment for a hagwon? Also, has jumping from kids to adults been a tough thing to do? I'd tutored a bit one on one and have had a lot of fun with that. Thoughts and opinions are welcome.

• fishead
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• April 23, 2010, 07:58:05 am
    • Yangju Korea
Re: Looking to move from public to hagwon - thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 07:31:33 am »
 Contact multiple recruiters and tell them specifically what you want.

• AbigailJoy
  • Veteran

• March 05, 2013, 08:54:19 am
    • Seoul, South Korea
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 09:29:43 am »