Read 5651 times

• Gomdori
  • Veteran

• September 17, 2010, 01:29:51 pm
    • Seoul
Teach high school???
« on: March 25, 2011, 12:41:01 pm »
Hi everyone!  I am filling out my EPIK application currently, and trying to decide which level to teach.  I have been teaching elementary kids for two years now, so I am leaning toward a change and going with high school.  Could some of you high school teachers share your experience with me?  Do you like teaching high school?  What is the biggest challenge?

Also, when filling in the application, how many of you were placed in the your first choice of location?  Were you placed in the level that you selected? 

I really appreciate all of your input on this matter!  Cheers! :D

Jeff

• shhowse
  • Featured Contributor

• August 25, 2009, 08:49:24 am
    • Mokpo
    more
Re: Teach high school???
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 12:57:09 pm »
I whole heartedly LOVE my high school position. I'm in an all girls school which is part of what makes my job so great but besides that, I just really connect with this age group. It is awesome to go into class and be able to realy communicate with (some) of the students, and the range of topics you can hit upon is much broader and more interesting. They can still be "cute kids" but they are also more responsible. The personalities and talent you encounter will sometimes blow you away.

Downsides to high school: They will be exhausted, all the time due to late night studies. They will want to sleep in your class, especially if you are not responsible for giving a grade. You will most likely not know anyone by name since there are too many classes which you see, usually, only once a week. They may not be interested in a lot of the games you have used int he past with younger kids, even bomb games.

As for when I applied (though not through GEPIK) I was able to get the level that I wanted at the time. I also received my first choice location (in a smaller city).

• EPSK
  • Veteran