Read 1996 times

• Shisner
  • Waygookin

• January 05, 2012, 04:58:06 am
    • Jinju
SMOE Styles/Structure
« on: September 02, 2013, 09:46:35 am »
I've been teaching in a public school in Gyeongsangnam-do for over 18 months now, and have been considering switching over to SMOE next year. I am curious what people's classroom experience has been in SMOE schools.

At my school I have almost complete control over my lessons: no book, no speaking tests, pretty much complete autonomy. I think this is a comparative rarity for public school teachers, and I really like it. SMOE teachers, I'd be grateful if you'd give a little overview of how you run your classrooms, and how much control you feel you have.

Thanks!
What a happy coincidence:
Earthly and heavenly light
Awakening,
Mingling and becoming
A thought, a passing dream.

• confusedsafferinkorea
  • Waygook Lord

• October 08, 2010, 01:02:32 pm
    • Zhubei, Hsinchu Province, Taiwan
    more
Re: SMOE Styles/Structure
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2013, 11:36:38 am »
It will vary from school to school and co-teacher to co-teacher, I don't think one can generalise.

I have most of the say about what goes on in my classroom but the book and speaking tests happen.

There is no known medical cure for stupidity!

• wouldof
  • Adventurer

• February 28, 2013, 09:14:17 pm
    • Seokgwan-Dong
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2013, 03:08:55 pm »
   Quite a lot depends on your co-teachers teaching style or lack thereof.  I've heard stories from SMOE friends on both extremes of the spectrum.  They range from the co-teacher taking complete command of the class and lesson, while the NET is simple a talking parrot as needed.  On the other end the NET literally does almost all of the teaching for their class will the co-teacher sits in the back and maybe manages discipline.