Read 3238 times

Any info on possible job cuts in Seoul (EPIK)???
« on: July 22, 2013, 09:48:15 am »
I'm a middle school teacher in Seoul (EPIK) and I've heard that middle/high jobs will continue being cut.  I'm a little worried because I am dead set on staying in Seoul for two years.  Does anyone have any basic information?  Is EPIK generally accommodating in these situations?  I'd switch schools and housing if I had to but leaving Seoul would be very, very rough right now. 

Re: Any info on possible job cuts in Seoul (EPIK)???
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 09:53:45 am »
to be honest i'm amazed there are any middle and high school jobs still left at all in Seoul, with the rate they have been cutting.

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 10:33:51 am »
I thought SMOE was finished altogether and only Gangnam hired for public schools under its own program? There are still public school jobs in Seoul?

• Chicagohotdog
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• March 04, 2012, 12:25:31 pm
    • Gyeongsangbuk-do
    more
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2013, 10:36:07 am »
SMOE might switch you to an elementary (as far as I know they still have elementary NETs in Seoul...), but you might just get cut.  Tough breaks I'm afraid.
Discount of up to $10 off of first order on iHerb.com ---> CHK096

$10 off of a Tour booked through Viator.com (You get $10 off and I'll get $10 off - that could be an airport ride): https://www.viator.com/raf/PDPOTBSYI

http://travelhacking.org/sammery-wants-you

« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2013, 10:42:08 am »
Yes there are still plenty of public school jobs in Seoul but almost all are elementary school.

• Freeto
  • Expert Waygook

• September 10, 2010, 01:24:42 pm
    • Seoul
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2013, 10:54:57 am »
SMOE still has elementary NETs. A new batch started in March AFAIK.

In past years many middle/high school NETs in Seoul were given the option to transfer to elementary.