Read 3043 times

• gookie
  • Super Waygook

• August 31, 2010, 12:03:12 pm
    • Daegu
Teaching my co-teachers
« on: March 14, 2011, 01:44:42 pm »
So i was informed last week that I need to start an afterschool lesson (once a week) to teach English to my English teachers. I've been teaching since August 2010 and this is my first time do this sorta thing. My teachers' level of competence with English is quite high, and some of them even read novels in their spare time. I just want to ask those who are already doing this sort of thing - what are you doing with YOUR teachers when their English level is very high/advanced? I was thinking of doing news articles.

• bmoney
  • Waygookin

• November 17, 2010, 08:26:22 am
    • Incheon, SK
Re: Teaching my co-teachers
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 01:47:41 pm »
I alternate weeks between reading news articles and watching like a sitcom or something so were not always reading
Im watching modern family with my co teachers and they seem to like it, i will say they are all pretty young tho so that helps

• teach1
  • Veteran

• September 02, 2010, 09:12:52 am
    • Seoul
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 01:50:32 pm »
i had high level co-workers and we did conversation. basically i'd bring in a topic (like fashion) start off with a few questions and just let it take its course. sometimes i'd have to facilitate, but usually they do it on their own. there are lots of sites that offer conversation topics and even questions, too.

i did an art lesson where i showed them modern art pictures and asked them to guess what it's about and led into a discussion of modern art. they loved it!

• teach1
  • Veteran

• September 02, 2010, 09:12:52 am
    • Seoul
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 01:51:34 pm »
here's a site i found helpful:

http://iteslj.org/Lessons/

• gookie
  • Super Waygook

• Daegu
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2011, 02:08:40 pm »