Read 3967 times

• leahpj
  • Newgookin

• June 12, 2012, 10:55:27 am
    • ansan, south korea
My Hagwon is forcing me to move to another city.
« on: February 22, 2013, 08:04:02 pm »
I have worked with Avalon English for 9 months. I am a great teacher, and several parents have even specifically signed their children up requesting me as their teacher. Yesterday however, I was told that we are downsizing. This means one teacher is being "transferred" to work in the corporate office instead of teaching. This means they are being forced to move to a city which is an hour away. There are 8 foreign teachers at my Hagwon, but I am due to go home in only 3 months. So based solely on this, I was selected. I have the week to clear out my place and move.
What is extra upsetting about this situation, is that the exact week that I am being forced to move, my brother and sister-in -law are moving to the same city I have lived at thus far. We thought we were going to be living right next to each other.
The contract I signed was a teaching contract, but now I am suppose to be doing editing and creating curriculum. I now have a week to say goodbye to the kids who I grew to love.
I am also expected to pay fees to cancel my bills early.
Do I have any rights here? What do I do? I originally was extremely emotional, hyperventilated and fainted, and this screwed me over even more. Yes, I know that was not a good move (especially in korea). I was blindsided, and I am terribly emotional as it is.
Please give me any advice. thanks

Re: My Hagwon is forcing me to move to another city.
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 09:47:03 pm »
Editing and creating curriculum can be seen as a promotion, which I think would look better on a resume than teaching.  I think you don't have much leverage, so have a nice move.  We all have to leave or our students we love will all leave eventually, which often is the EFL teaching life.

• leahpj
  • Newgookin

• June 12, 2012, 10:55:27 am