Read 2179 times

Hi everyone, this is my first time in Korea so I was wondering when do public schools let you know about renewing your contract?  I work for a elementary school and my contract ends towards the middle of this June.  One co-teacher told me they want me to stay another year, but does the co-teacher in charge of you decide about your contract, or who makes the decision? 

I have a lot to think about, but it would be good financially to stay one more year, but I really don't want to look for another job because I like my school, although sometimes they make me mental, but then what school doesn't do that :P I do like the kids here and my apartment is fairly decent, at least my kitchen is separate from the rest of the apartment which is a plus anyways would just like peoples experiences and input so I have more of an idea.  Thanks :)

• Nobbie Q
  • Veteran

• June 17, 2012, 05:15:58 pm
    • Seongnam, South Korea
Re: first year in Korea, when do public schools inform you about renewal?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 08:49:47 am »
With GEPIK, they state in your contract (well for the ones written out in 2012) that they notify you officially of renewal or not, two months before your contract ends. At that point they let you know.

Your co-teacher in charge of you decides whether or not you'll get the boot. She's the one who can tell others to renew you or not, so you better be on her good side, despite how lazy, inconsiderate, and ignorant she might seem.

• stemarty
  • Featured Contributor

• September 02, 2011, 12:20:42 pm
    • Jeonnamdo
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 09:07:51 am »
Your Co-Teacher is incharge of your renew and will have a lot of say over if they want you back next year.

your contract renewal paper should come anytime, but this is Korea and things sometimes are done super last minute. For my province (Jeollanam-do ) the renewal papers usually come in around May.