• Philbo
  • Adventurer

• July 24, 2012, 10:36:17 am
    • Korea
    more
Aged-out of teaching in Korea?
« on: January 22, 2013, 12:10:58 pm »
Hi to all,

I am 50 years old, soon to be 51. Have I been ‘aged-out’ of teaching in Korea?
I have been contacted by a few recruiters who have brought up the ‘issue’ of my age in their interviews, in declaring I should accept positions that are less than favorable to me, (Rural-long commutes). “Hagwons prefer young teachers”. I am told.

I haven’t exactly been overwhelmed with offers considering that I have one years teaching experience in Korea. (Youth and beauty over teaching experience?)

I guess that eventually, someone will throw this old dog an acceptable bone...Ha ha!

Have any other ‘oldies’ out there had similar experiences?

Good luck out there!

P.

• money55
  • Super Waygook

• July 05, 2011, 02:12:38 pm
    • south korea
Re: Aged-out of teaching in Korea?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 12:19:32 pm »
thats true but don't listen to them. PLEASE you will get a job. Name these recruiters, I don't want to do business with someone that practicies ageism. Keep trying, you will get a job.

• stronzata
  • Veteran

• September 04, 2012, 07:14:29 pm
    • korea
    more
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 12:36:43 pm »
thats true but don't listen to them. PLEASE you will get a job. Name these recruiters, I don't want to do business with someone that practicies ageism. Keep trying, you will get a job.

He HAS been offered jobs put apparently he is being picky. There are a lot of people that had to accept rural work that are under 50. Squeaky wheel gets the grease so keep searching I guess.
The only valid censorship of ideas is the right of people not to listen.

• Jrong
  • The Legend

• April 28, 2011, 12:52:32 pm
    more
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2013, 02:29:51 pm »
Not wanting to do biz with someone who practices ageism?

:undecided: