Read 3215 times

• elledee
  • Waygookin

• May 20, 2011, 06:15:33 am
    • South Korea
I'm an elementary guest teacher with EPIK in a small city Jeollabuk-do. I've been teaching at an English Center for two years and I'm interested in moving to Ansan (or possibly Suwon) to be closer to friends. And for a change of pace. My contract renews at the beginning of March 2013. I haven't gone to my resigning interview yet. I am totally flexible about the grade level I teach. I'd be happy to stay in elementary but I can try something new.

I'm hearing so much about the budget cuts in Gyeonggi-do that it makes me concerned to request a change of city.

Is this an unrealistic request to make given the current job climate? Will there be enough positions available in a city like Ansan or Suwon to accommodate the request?

What is the process like when you request a move within EPIK? I've heard that you don't always get the city you request. What is the best way to get what you want?

Any advice from people who are familiar with the job climate in Ansan or Suwon or from people with experience transferring cities within EPIK would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

• taeyang
  • Moderator - LVL 4

• September 08, 2010, 08:35:10 am
    • daejeon
if you're changing provinces, you have to reapply to EPIK all over again.
use google to search the site

site:waygook.org XXXX

replace 'XXXX' with your search term

• robvandan
  • Veteran

• June 17, 2011, 05:54:23 am
    • Seoul, Korea.
If you want to change provinces with EPIK, then you will need to re-apply.
Although you are probably way too late for the spring starts, your best bet would be summer.

You can request an MOE preference, but then Suwon might fall into GEPIK, so EPIK would only be good for Seoul Jobs SMOE. Also you can choose to withdraw if you don't get a position in your preffered place.