Read 1058 times

Anyone dealt with suicide problems at school?
« on: September 21, 2012, 01:06:19 pm »
Although I've been in Korea for two years now, it is my first time teaching at a public school. I understand that suicide is a big problem in Korea and I am worried I might have to experience the situation if I am to stay in Korea any longer.

If you have experienced a student committing suicide, how did you deal with the fact afterwards?

Re: Anyone dealt with suicide problems at school?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2012, 03:18:00 pm »
Yes... It's hard but I try to talk about bullying with my students and the stresses of school with them and try to talk with them as much as I can with the language barrier.

• kjmerri2
  • Adventurer

• November 25, 2011, 08:01:33 am
    • Incheon
Re: Anyone dealt with suicide problems at school?
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 03:42:45 pm »
I've been at my school for 3 years now.  One of our freshman committed suicide early on in this school year.  My students are mostly lower-scoring/ low income students.  Many of them also have difficult family situations.  This particular student had divorced parents (still a very taboo situation in Korea).  He also had absolutely no desire to be at our school, a fact the teachers here learned after his death.  Our school is a tech high school, but this student really wanted to go to university.  From what I understand, his father forced him to come to our school for whatever reasons he may have had.  I was sad, because some of our kids do go on to university.  Not all become sailors.   

There wasn't much I could do.  My students come from all over the country, so they really hadn't been with each other but for a few weeks.  They didn't know each other well enough to feel that they'd lost a good friend.  However, I'm sure they were saddened by it, if not only because many of them are under similar pressures.