Read 1791 times

• lee233
  • Super Waygook

• August 31, 2012, 09:53:46 am
    • Korea
    more
Bath house Etiquette
« on: September 03, 2012, 10:12:29 am »
Hey folks, I am quite new to this country, I arrived on August 19th, and there are many things here that I am trying to adapt to. While I am learning my way around I am trying my best not to be rude, but unfortunately since some things here are so different from home I don't think that I can help but to offend while I am learning whats up. My question today has to do with the bath houses. Is there a required regiment once you are in the bath house? I went to my first on Saturday and I did the rinsing and such before I got in the baths, but is there a certain order you have to follow afterwards? Are we supposed to do the sauna then baths, vice versa, or free for all? I'm asking this because I felt like my companions and I were getting the stink eye from the other men in there. Oh, and we were not talking loud or being obnoxious, so I doubt that would have been the reason the glares.
If wishes were horses beggars would ride

Re: Bath house Etiquette
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2012, 10:25:12 am »
The stink eye could also be attributed to A: That's just the way their face is or B: You're a foreigner.

• lee233
  • Super Waygook

• August 31, 2012, 09:53:46 am
    • Korea
    more
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2012, 10:45:25 am »
Yeah, I was kind of thinking that your two suggestions might be the reason, but I wanted to make sure there wasn't some sort of routine you have to go through.
If wishes were horses beggars would ride

• JahRhythm
  • Fanatical Supporter!

• May 25, 2011, 12:49:41 pm
    • Seoul
    more
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2012, 10:55:07 am »
Before going in the baths you need to do a thorough cleaning not just a rinse.
Lathered up, scrubbing, nooks and crannies, the lot. Really take some time.
After in bath, then go in sauna, then rinse off after before returning to bath.