Read 3041 times

• aisy
  • Adventurer

• March 27, 2012, 05:08:33 am
    • New York, USA
Recruiter told me to give up hope, can i still get a job?
« on: August 01, 2012, 02:22:35 pm »
I applied to Epik, and my recruiter basically told me to give up hope because im not willing to give my pet cat up :/
im planning to start the whole paperwork process over again (with expedited services)so that i can hopefully still get a job even if it is not in august.

my real question is, how likely will it be that someone will hire me? I am a recent female college grad  planning to bring an indoor cat who would like to work in an urban setting. is that feasible, or should i drop it all together? Also, i majored in english literature so i dont need to get tesol certified.
thanks for any advice!

• Jaunter
  • Super Waygook

• April 02, 2012, 11:57:17 am
    • Goyang, Korea
    more
Re: Recruiter told me to give up hope, can i still get a job?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 02:28:58 pm »
Protip: don't tell them you have a cat.

Or

Try another recruiter who is willing to go that extra mile for you. Worknplay (http://www.worknplayconsulting.com/) have been really good to me, though I don't have pets, and GEPIK seems to be more flexible than EPIK.
_ゝ`) ...

• shhowse
  • Featured Contributor

• August 25, 2009, 08:49:24 am
    • Mokpo
    more
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2012, 02:31:22 pm »
I can't see any way that having a pet would hinder your chances of coming to work here. It has absolutely nothing to do with the hiring process and IMO, your recruitor and employer don't need to know you have a pet. HOWEVER, as a responsible pet owner, one would look into travel arrangements ahead of time for bringing a pet over and check into your future accommodation situation, to see if they allow pets in the building. That said, tons of people have pets here with or without the permission of their landlords.

Good luck in the job hunt! (Perhaps consider finding a new recruiter?)