Read 6034 times

• schuettl
  • Adventurer

• October 27, 2010, 08:51:09 am
    • Wonju, Gangwon-do
Hi Guys!  This is my first time ever posting files in a forum so please be gentle with me.  I made this 3 day summer camp for Elementary School kids in 5th and 6th grade.  I had about 36 kids in the camp and everything went more wonderfully than I could have hoped.  I grouped the kids into groups of 6 but the groups had to change a little day-by-day as we had kids absent or newly arrive each day.  I realize that some of the "Native American" materials are not authentic, and verge on the offensive but I had to include some things at my coteacher's request and while not being authentic, they might be helpful so I included them here anyway.  For classroom management we laminated colored headbands and feathers and put feathers on and took them off for group behavior.  However, the activities were so strong we didn't REALLY need these.

• schuettl
  • Adventurer

• Wonju, Gangwon-do
Day 1

Introduction and Nametag Craft:  Teachers and staff will say hello and introduce themselves to the students.  Teachers will explain to the students in English and Korean the theme of American Summer Camp and "Wakanda."  Later, students will make a wooden necklace with their name on one side in English.  On the other side, students will write their new "Native American" name by looking their birth month and day up on a chart.  Students will decorate the nametags with permanent markers and beads.

Ice breaker Games: Students will play games that build trust between peers and lessen a feeling of shyness.  These games include “Find Someone Who” where students must ask each other if they have done something (ex: have you visited Gyeongju?) and get their signature if they say yes.  We will also play a trust fall game where students fall from a table and their peers catch them.