Read 2776 times

Urgent advice needed.
« on: July 16, 2012, 10:41:50 am »
I have been teaching at a Hagwon in South Korea for over 3 months and I need some urgent advice.

Below is the chain of events that occurred at work very recently:

*I was asked to go to the principal's office with the interpreter.  They told me that due to a reduction in student numbers they could no longer employ someone at my pay rate and that they needed to hire a Korean teacher who they could pay less.  The Korean teacher would not be a native English speaker.
* They told me my employment would finish in 6 weeks but they would help me to find another job.
* After quite a deal of questioning I offered to work for the same pay rate as the Korean teacher.
* They declined this offer.
* Five minutes after I left the office they came back to me and said that I could stay for the remainder of my contract and work at the reduced rate if I wished.  They would begin paying me at my contracted rate if student numbers increased. 
*I told them I would consider this offer.

I enjoy teaching 95% of the students there and I would like to stay.

I am also confident in my ability to help the students and the school.  However, I can't help but thinking that I am the victim of a scam just designed to pay me less than what was agreed in my contact.

They have had a Korean teacher at the school for about 3 weeks.  I am told she is the replacement teacher for another staff member but she just appears to be doing an incredibly long induction.

My issue is that if the school is in a bad financial state, how can they afford to pay this extra teacher, who as best I can tell isn't teaching any classes and doesn't really appear to be doing anything?

Any good advice would be appreciated.
"The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do."  Steve Jobs

• millionsknives
  • Veteran

• January 18, 2012, 10:42:37 am
    • 전남-도,장성
    more
Re: Urgent advice needed.