Read 1862 times

• Joben
  • Explorer

• September 06, 2011, 01:19:55 pm
    • South Korea
I want to stay in korea but I don't have a bachelors
« on: June 24, 2012, 06:54:55 pm »
Hi I'm sorry to trouble you but I was wondering if I could get some advice. I'm currently an english teacher in korea. My contract is ending at the end of july and I tried extending my contract but my application was declined. I want to stay in korea but I don't have bachelors degree so I can't get a working visa. I want to get a student visa but I missed the deadline to most universities. I could go to a language university but I don't have a lot of money. Does anyone have any idea how I could stay in korea? How much can I earn tutoring? Can I get a student visa from attending a hagwon? Thanks for the help!  :) :) :)

• skippy
  • Expert Waygook

• January 12, 2011, 04:08:17 pm
    • Daejeon
    more
Re: I want to stay in korea but I don't have a bachelors
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2012, 07:18:24 pm »
Without at least a bachelors degree you can not legally teach English in Korea.  (Well one way exists the TALK Program). Even on a student visa that allows work, you can not teach English.

You could jump back and forth to Japan and stay on a tourist visa.  Once again you are not legally allowed to teach or tutor. It is a tourist visa. Plus that comes with it's own risk from being deported and fined.  To being denied permission of being allowed in Korea for 5 plus years.   It can be done, but you will responsible for yourself from apartment to banking.  Which gets harder when you are on a tourist visa.  You could tutor, but it will take work, but once again illegal. 

Still, I am confused how did you get a job as an English teacher without a bachelors?  Where you in the TALK program?

Check out the HiKorea website for information on immigration and visas.