Read 2754 times

• EmMargaret
  • Waygookin

• December 15, 2011, 11:09:21 am
    • South Korea
Contract Accomodation
« on: June 01, 2012, 12:35:16 pm »
I'm not sure if this is even in the right section, I hope it is. I have been teaching in Korea for 7 months. The job that I applied for offered a single studio apartment, but when I got here, I was delighted that I had this wonderful two room apartment. I couldn't believe my luck. Now, one of the teachers has left to go to another job and the new teacher is going to be living with me. I have tried living with people before and I learned that I do better living alone. I feel that this a violation of the contract/job description. Any advice on what I should do?

• cruisemonkey
  • Expert Waygook

• March 25, 2011, 02:17:57 pm
    • China
    more
Re: Contract Accomodation
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 01:11:39 pm »
Perhaps you should read your contract?
The Ks once gave me five minutes notice. I didn't know what to do with the extra time.

• lenak
  • Adventurer

• September 22, 2011, 12:40:41 pm
    • Anyang
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 01:14:05 pm »
I agree with you that this is a violation of your contract and if I were in your place I would be livid. In your post you didn't say whether you were with a public school or a hogwan. Public school contracts offer single housing as well but if you don't like it , you get 400 a month towards another type of accomidation of your choosing. If you are in a public school, you can always tell your coteacher you are unhappy and if things don't change , you have the option of contacting your program coordinators.
 Hogwan contracts vary on this as far as I know. If you would like to live in a single apartment, which would include moving and possibly finding a very cramped and possibly less convinient place, I suggest you talk to your coteacher about and see if they can arrange that for you but I don't know who you would need to contact if that doesn't help.