Read 2142 times

• shellyryan
  • Adventurer

• June 23, 2010, 08:40:38 am
    • Seoul, South Korea
SMOE Contract Hours Problem
« on: May 28, 2012, 08:00:21 pm »
I was wondering what the minimum hours are for SMOE public school teachers.  It says in our contracts that we should not exceed 22 hours, but it does not say what the minimum is.  I've been teaching here since 2009, but my contract and 2011 SMOE-ersí contracts should still be the same, correct?

My new vice-principal recently came across some regulation in a new Board of Education book that all foreign English teachers have to teach officially for at least 22 hours.  Since all of the After School classes at my school require money, they cannot take my extra pay away and count those classes as part of my official teaching hours.  Since I work at a small school and my textbooks have very little context, I need to make a lot for my classes to actually be interesting.  I also have not successfully found a textbook that I can actually use in my After School classes, so I need to make the materials myself (students vary too much in their abilities).

My school wants me to start teaching a 2-hour extracurricular class for 3rd and 4th graders (again, no textbook for this), a 2-hour class for 5th and 6th graders, and tutor 2 different classes for low leveled 3rd and 4th graders.  Tutoring was something that I did unofficially, but this whole thing is still sudden and overwhelming, so I do not know what to do.  I think that I just have to accept things and teach these classes, but I do not think that I can handle all of them.

Does anyone know the minimum hours or have any advice for me?  I know that I have no right to complain because I only teach 19 hours a week, but since my two co-teachers have other responsibilities, I cannot afford to lose that planning / creating time for classes.

Thank you for reading this m(_ _)m.

• plchron
  • Super Waygook

• July 20, 2011, 10:24:04 am
    • Ulsan