Read 5559 times

• Katherine84
  • Adventurer

• October 07, 2010, 12:07:22 pm
    • Buan-gun, Korea
Teaching alone - Winter vacation
« on: December 02, 2010, 08:39:13 am »
Hi, I'm a first year EPIK teacher in Jeollabuk-do, I teach elementary - high school, and was hoping one of you lovely people could give me some advice? I have been told that I am not teaching any sort of camps this vacation, but will instead teach my ordinary 22 hour week for the duration of vacation. I was fine with this, but I have also been told that I will be teaching completely alone for the whole vacation period. I am worried about this as I teach low level students, who don't understand a lot of what I say - I rely a hell of a lot of my coteachers just to translate for most of my students! I was wondering if anyone could offer any advice about what to teach/if this is part of my job description? Thanks so much!

• shhowse
  • Featured Contributor

• August 25, 2009, 08:49:24 am
    • Mokpo
    more
Re: Teaching alone - Winter vacation
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 08:49:39 am »
I would suggest during the "vacation" period not to teach so much as play English oriented games and do fun activities. You shouldn't be doing the curriculum during the break, so treat it kind of like a camp anyway and stay away from the textbook. That is unless of course your school has told you to teach the textbook. In that case, just do what you can and don't worry about it if the kids aren't seeming to get much out of it. Keep everything as simple and fun as possible.

• pickle
  • Veteran

• June 29, 2010, 01:58:27 pm
    • Cheongju, Chungbuk
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 09:13:18 am »
How are you teaching your normal classes during a vacation?  Are all the students required to come to school during the school break?  It doesn't make much sense to  me.