Read 23963 times

• EmMargaret
  • Waygookin

• December 15, 2011, 11:09:21 am
    • South Korea
Ready to Cry
« on: January 18, 2012, 08:28:00 pm »
Hi,
 I was a substitute teacher for many years before coming to Korea. If you remember the way that you treated your substitute teacher... I had always heard that the students in Asian countries were very well behaved. I have a class that is making me feel like quitting. They are rude and disrespectful everyday I have them. The first day that I met this group, one student said how much he hated me.
 I am trying my best to teach the book that I was given but all they want to do is play games. They are a middle school class. Today, I had a student tell me to stop talking. I stopped and was sooo angry, I didn't know what to do. Where I work there is little to no discipline from the regular Korean teachers, but I have seen this group and they listen to the other teachers. I almost wish those bad students would quit. Any advice would be greatly helpful.
Thank you

Re: Ready to Cry
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2012, 08:49:58 pm »
I'm guessing that you are in a rather 'low' status middle school?  Students know what they are doing is wrong and would never do that to a Korean teacher.

My advice is just to stop caring.  These kids will spend the next few years wasting their time in high school, probably buy their university degree at a 4th tier university and then end up as delivery boys or selling fish or meat at HomePlus because they were 'too cool' to really understand what you were doing there.