Read 7650 times

tough time in korea
« on: November 19, 2010, 12:07:59 pm »
hello everyone.  i came here with the august intake of epik teachers and i was really really excited to start teaching in korea.  i studied tesol in school and have lived overseas before so i was really looking forward to my time and korea and came here with (what i think) was a positive attitude.  however, since getting here i have been incredibly unhappy.  i guess i can't complain too much about my school, because even though i haven't been too warmly received, and even though my students are really low level, so teaching can be really difficult, i haven't been treated poorly.  we have a really strict principal, so i have the minimum time off offered through my contract and never get to leave school early or anything, but they are abiding by my contract and paying me on time so i can't complain about that.

however, i'm miserable here.  really, really unhappy.  i didn't know anyone when i first moved to korea, and was surprised (and really saddened) to find that when i left orientation in suwon, that i still didn't know anyone.  i've been living in seoul for three months and still only know about five people, none of whom i feel like i've really connected with.  it's been incredibly isolating, and emotionally taxing.