Read 2848 times

Being paid to do another job that is not teaching.
« on: October 28, 2011, 02:21:14 pm »
SO I am wondering...

I am an amatuer photographer and I have been asked to take photos for a woman (another English Teacher.. though I'm not sure if she is a KOREAN English teacher or a NATIVE English teacher.. I haven't met her and only know of this through a friend). Am I allowed to be paid by her? I'm not sure if I am breaking the law since it doesn't have anything to do with teaching English (which I do as my job here).

What do you think or know?

• Peekay1982
  • Expert Waygook

• October 04, 2010, 09:12:28 am
    • 부산
Re: Being paid to do another job that is not teaching.
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 02:26:07 pm »
It's completely illegal. If immigration finds out, you could be fined and/or deported. Even doing it for free would, technically, be a visa violation.

But how will they find out? Either get her to put money in your home-country account or take cash. If you get paid 원 into a Korean account there's a paper trail which could be followed (unlikely but you never know). Just be discreet. Happy snapping!

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2011, 02:49:53 pm »
If you're doing it for free (or a dinner/gift), then isn't it really practicing a hobby and not a job ...?

• Peekay1982
  • Expert Waygook

• October 04, 2010, 09:12:28 am
    • 부산
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2011, 08:09:51 pm »
If you're doing it for free (or a dinner/gift), then isn't it really practicing a hobby and not a job ...?