Read 1691 times

Does this happen to you...?
« on: September 07, 2011, 05:35:49 pm »
I'm in my second year in Korea and I was just wondering how common this is.

I am a african-american female and I eat lunch with / teach little 4 year-olds at my new school. Whenever we get a new one, they freak out majorly at the sight of me. They completely go berserk, panic and switch to survival mode  ::) They scream, run away, wail, hide -- the works. I promise I don't look like a monster but they sure act like I am one! They usually get over it after 2 or 3 weeks. I've never had any foreign friends talk about something like that either.

The thing is that this never happened at my old school. Both were schools in Gyeonggi-do (I don't want to name the cities, sorry) and my current school is in a city at least twice as big as the last one, and that's what confuses me!

Anyhow, it's hard to keep from laughing because it's so strange to me and I almost want to videotape them to show my family/friends back home what I'm talking about.

Re: Does this happen to you...?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2011, 06:15:01 pm »
I'm caucasian and worked in a very rural school in Cheoncheonamdo and taught the kinders.  Never had that reaction, though the hair on my arms got a lot of press...

I don't say this meaning to be rude and I have black freinds myself (in the UK, or at least in my social groups black is equal to white, it's just the name of a colour so there's no issue over using it if you mean no bad by it) but when I was 5 I lived in the South of england and had never seen a blackperson before EVER.  A new boy came to our school who was black and it just spun us out, we couldn't get over it.  We spent the whole day stroking his hair, touching his arms etc and asking him questions such as 'is all of your body that colour? How did you get like that...?  Why are your hands lighter...?  etc...

This was in the early 80's, thirty years after the windrush immigration from the West Indies.