Read 6184 times

• escapethegray
  • Explorer

• August 25, 2011, 04:35:31 pm
    • Yeongyang, Gyeongsangbuk-do
Advice for rural EPIK placement
« on: September 01, 2011, 03:27:24 pm »
I am a new EPIK teacher placed at an elementary school way out in the countryside in Gyeongsangbuk. I guess that I just want to ask the cloud for any tips that will help my survive, or even thrive during my time in rural Korea. I'm thinking that some mode of transportation should help, if for nothing else to escape the limitations of the local bus schedules. I am about 30-40 minutes by bus from a town with five or six foreigners, but bus timetables only allow me to get there on the weekends.

Any suggestions will be really appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Re: Advice for rural EPIK placement
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2011, 04:07:32 pm »
Learn the bus schedule and where it goes to lol.

« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2011, 07:35:18 pm »
Buy a small scooter and a helmet.  But if you do, be very careful.  The accident rate for those flying delivery gus is pretty high.

• gwiffey
  • Adventurer

• April 29, 2010, 01:40:37 pm
    • Gyeongbuk, South Korea
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2011, 05:42:14 pm »
I also live in rural Gyeongsangbuk. I'm actually on my 2nd contract out here, because the first year was so good. The key for me was finding a bigger city to socialize in. A town with 6 foreigners is an improvement, but still not much. Try to find out the most convenient bigger city (Gumi, Daegu, Pohang, Andong, Gimcheon, etc.) That has really been the key to my survival out here. I'm only 1 hour by bus & train from downtown Daegu, which I go to at least 2 times a week. Think about being able to travel more than 30 minutes. Even if it's a 2 hour commute each way, it might be worth investing your time and social energy there. The 6 foreigners in the other town may not even be people you like, so you'll probably want to invest in a bigger social scene.