Read 222 times

First contract, please help!
« on: October 15, 2021, 01:03:35 am »
Hi all,

Just received my first Hagwon offer, could someone look through the contract and highlight anything concerning? I've noticed a couple of things I think are red flags already, but I'm very new to this.

1. EMPLOYMENT OF EMPLOYEE
Employer hereby employs Employee to teach English language in form and manner and
under the terms and conditions set forth in this Agreement.
Employee hereby accepts employment from Employer to teach English language in the
form and manner and under the terms and conditions set forth in this Agreement.

2. PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT
Employee will be employed to teach English language at the address of the principal office
as above (herein after referred to as “Institute”).
3. TERM OF RENEWAL & VOLUNTARY TERMINATION
 3.1 The term of this Agreement shall be Twelve (12) full and consecutive months from
the next day of arrival in Korea, specified in Section 4 of this contract.
3.2 No later than four (4) full months before the date of termination of this Agreement,
Employer and Employee shall consult together and shall agree either to an extension or
termination of it.
3.3 In the case of the Employee resigns voluntarily within twelve (12) months, Employee
is required to inform Employer no later than two (2) full months before the date of
voluntary termination of this Agreement.

4. DUTIES OF EMPLOYEE
 4.1 During the term of Agreement the Employee shall accept and strictly comply
with the instructions, supervision, training, and discipline of the Academic
Director and shall carry out such assignments as directed by the Academic Director.
These duties shall include ELS instructions in all phases of the program, administrative
duties related to the classroom duties, administrative at scheduled staff meetings,
workshops, and school sponsored outings and any other duties as may be assigned by the