Read 3451 times

• jshtchr
  • Explorer

• November 05, 2020, 05:59:10 pm
EPIK: D-4 to E-2
« on: November 23, 2020, 12:46:21 pm »
I'm currently studying Korean on a D-4 visa.

I applied to EPIK, and I would be an obvious choice with many years of public school experience and happy former co-teachers. Last week, I received a generic e-mail about quarantine and visa processes. It stated, amongst many other things, that they wouldn't accept people applying while on a "student visa" because visa runs are not possible.

I called immigration. They told me with absolute certainty that it is possible to transfer a D-4 to an E-2 without doing a visa run. I would be able to transfer my visa well in advance of orientation as my final intended semester finishes in the first week of February.

I explained my situation to EPIK and they eventually stopped asking more questions, but they didn't confirm anything.

Searching r/teachinginkorea via Google tells me that transfers from a D-10 are not permitted by EPIK, but there's nothing about D-4 visas.

I can't understand why EPIK would refuse to hire someone currently in Korea on a transferable visa. It doesn't make any sense at all, so I'm wondering if there's some reason that is applicable to people on a D-10 or a D-2, but not applicable to me on a D-4.

• shostager
  • Super Waygook

• November 06, 2012, 06:08:10 am
Re: EPIK: D-4 to E-2
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2020, 02:55:33 pm »
From what I remember (so maybe not fully correct), switching from a D-10 to an E-2 for EPIK isn't allowed, because you have to do orientation (kind of working) before you could get your placement and the information you need to switch visas.

Maybe that's the rule they're applying here? It looks like you can get permission to work on a D-4 visa, but again, you might not be able to get all the information you need to apply for that before the end of orientation.

• jshtchr
  • Explorer

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2020, 03:30:39 pm »