Read 389 times

• theman3285
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• June 16, 2017, 09:01:06 am
EG Sim, anyone?
« on: July 02, 2020, 11:48:20 am »
So I've been using one of these ever since I arrived in 2016. It's basically a prepaid sim card intended for people travelling in Korea, I just never bothered upgrading to a real phone plan (don't like contracts).

Problem is, the f***ers removed the option to recharge your data balance online (i.e. on an actual computer, via their website). You can only do it with their super shit clunky app, which you obviously can't use without data. I could use wifi to get the app running and then recharge, but I don't have wifi at school. Do I really have to wait till I get home? It's 2020 goddammit.

Or am I missing something?

• maclarent1337
  • Adventurer

• February 08, 2019, 07:09:51 am
    • Incheon, South Korea
Re: EG Sim, anyone?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2020, 12:12:45 pm »
it'd be well well well well worth it to switch to 알뜰폰.... haha

I get 6gb data, 100call, 100txt for 11,000원/month

But no idea how to solve your problem in question :/ Sorry and good luck to you bud

• theman3285
  • Hero of Waygookistan

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2020, 12:22:09 pm »
it'd be well well well well worth it to switch to 알뜰폰
Sounds good. No idea what that is though, haha. Is it a contract? I might be leaving Korea in the next 6 months or so, so it wouldn't make sense to commit to a two-year contract at this point.

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2020, 12:30:29 pm »
I've posted about one 알뜰폰 company, KT M Mobile, many, many times on website waygook.org. For 32,000 per month I get (basically) unlimited data, unlimited calls and texts, and access to all KT wifi in Korea, for 32,000 won per month, no contract. If you don't need unlimited data, you can get, like waygook.org user maclarent1337 said, you can get something less for a lot cheaper. I haven't seen anything as low as 11,000 won per month, but it's not an unrealistic price.