Read 1392 times

GOE Teachers: Salary Inquiry
« on: April 17, 2020, 01:10:14 pm »
Hi everyone. I recently had the chance to look at my salary breakdown and had a few questions that I'm waiting for confirmation from.

I am a level 1 teacher in the Gyeongnam area. My contract stated that my salary is 2.5 million won. I also go to a second school which gives me a multiple schools allowance (MSA) of 100,000 won. My question is:

Is the 100,000 won inclusive of the 2.5 million won stated in my contract?

On my salary breakdown:

강사수당 (Instructor allowance):  2.3 million won
순회근무수당 (MSA): 100,000 won

My korean English teacher said my salary of 2.5 million is inclusive of the MSA and the 급식비 (meal expenses) which is why it's at 2.3 million on the document. But If it's as he said, then should I not receive a refund for the meal expenses, because for the last three months I've been bringing my own lunch (and will be for the rest of the semester).

Thank you in advance!

P.S. I emailed my program coordinator before this and hasn't gotten a reply. hopefully they're not too stressed to reply to this.

[to moderators, i'm sorry this was posted again! It's my first time positing here and I didn't see this section the first time!}
« Last Edit: April 17, 2020, 01:28:21 pm by chardhannay »

Re: GOE Teachers: Salary Inquiry
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 08:15:01 am »
No, if you contract states 2.5 and then you have additional schools, the additional school amount is in addition to......when I started out at 2.5 I had 4 schools, so I made 2.5 + 100 (first school) + 50 (2nd) + 50 (3rd) and if you had anything else...rural, coordinator etc pay it would be in addition. They cannot take food money out if you are not eating it either, but that may be something they signed you up for and you actually need to "cancel"

• busanite
  • Adventurer

• November 22, 2010, 08:12:58 am
    • Busan
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 08:18:37 am »