Read 480 times

• ashwalton
  • Adventurer

• September 09, 2016, 09:25:25 am
    • Seoul, South Korea
    more
Having to pay after filing taxes.
« on: February 13, 2020, 03:26:40 pm »
Hello everyone, so I have a tax question.
I am a hagwon teacher working on my fourth year here, for the first two I was EPIK and tax exempt as I am American.
Then I moved to a hagwon and started the whole hometax and giving to my school the papers and everything. For that first year, I got nothing and had to pay nothing.
Now I am filing for the second year at a different school, I got the forms from hometax and gave to my school, and now my director is telling me I have to pay over 200,000 won to the tax office because "I made too much money (2.5 salary) but didn't spend enough money (over 8,000,000 won)."
From what I have heard from other people and this website, I feel like this isn't normal, I usually hear about people actually getting money back.
My director doesn't know why and the above quote is what the tax office told her, but I wanted a second opinion before paying this.
Thanks to anyone who offers me advice and sorry if this type of thing has been posted before, I could not find an answer anywhere on here.

• JNM
  • The Legend

• January 19, 2015, 10:16:48 am
    • Seoul, South Korea
Re: Having to pay after filing taxes.
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 09:21:29 pm »
If you changed jobs during the tax year, and got a raise, it is likely that you did not have enough deducted at source.

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2020, 07:24:58 am »
For that first year, I got nothing and had to pay nothing.

Knowing hagwons and taxes, did you definitely pay tax?  Was your boss deducting every month at your first hagwon?  It'd be incredible if you completely broke even if tax was done properly.