Read 2544 times

• KimDuHan
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• January 15, 2015, 11:48:59 am
    • Seoul
Esl teachers are losers?!?!
« on: November 11, 2019, 10:12:23 pm »
Where did this stereotype come from?

Iíve talked to a few people in Canada who believe that ESL teachers are losers. I was an ESL teacher but donít fall into the stereotypical ESL teacher type as well as numerous others Iíve met in Canada and the USA.

I currently am employed in a different field. My friend was a ESL teacher in Korea and is now a public school teacher in Canada. I would say he doesnít look like a loser either.

Is it jealousy? Racism?

• VanIslander
  • Moderator LVL 1

• June 02, 2011, 10:12:19 am
    • Seogwipo, Jeju Island
    more
Re: Esl teachers are losers?!?!
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2019, 11:48:55 pm »
Do you own a home? (Paying a mortgage)
Are you married with children? (Building a family)
Do you have a good job? (Climbing the social status ladder)

Traveling overseas?
Taking more than 2-week vacations?
Shirking family/social expectations?

No. No. No.
Yes! Yes! Yes!

You bast***!

• SPQR
  • Super Waygook

• March 08, 2018, 07:04:54 pm
    • Canada
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2019, 07:36:34 am »
Do you own a home? (Paying a mortgage)
Are you married with children? (Building a family)
Do you have a good job? (Climbing the social status ladder)

Traveling overseas?
Taking more than 2-week vacations?
Shirking family/social expectations?

No. No. No.
Yes! Yes! Yes!

You bast***!

Do you own a home? (Paying a mortgage)  Yes
Are you married with children? (Building a family) Yes
Do you have a good job? (Climbing the social status ladder) Yes

Traveling overseas? Yes
Taking more than 2-week vacations? No
Shirking family/social expectations? Yes

Most people I knew from where I am from are quite
interested that I live in Asia permanently.  They still
live where they have always done, have the same
friends and haven't seen a lot of the world.