Read 680 times

Renewing passport mid-contract...
« on: October 04, 2019, 04:37:25 pm »
I've been teaching in SK since 2016 and plan to leave after my contract is up in February.  My passport expires in April so I need to get in renewed while I'm here (because it needs to be valid at least 6 months after the travel date).  Once I renew it, I will have a different passport number.  I was wondering who I should notify about this change and if it will have any effect on getting my end-of-contract severance and pension and other bonuses? 
  For instance, should I notify immigration about my change in passport number?  EPIK? 

Re: Renewing passport mid-contract...
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2019, 05:11:52 pm »
I'm a little confused.  Are you saying that between now and February, you won't be leaving Korea at all?  So when you go in February, you won't be coming back?  Are you going back to your home country after Korea? 

Pretty sure the six-month rule is only entering Korea.  If you are leaving with two months on it, I don't think it matters.  Especially if you're going back home, as you can just renew it then.

Also, if you do renew your passport then you have to register it with immigration within 14 days.  You can use the HiKorea website to do this or go to your local immigration office.   

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2019, 06:35:19 pm »
Yes, I'll be staying in Korea until the end of February and then I'll be flying back home (US) the first week of March.  Passport expires first week of April. 

Yeah I was under the impression that for any travel your passport had to be good for at least six months.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2019, 06:43:50 pm by purpleparrot »

• JNM
  • The Legend

• January 19, 2015, 10:16:48 am
    • Seoul, South Korea
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2019, 07:07:11 pm »
Yes, I'll be staying in Korea until the end of February and then I'll be flying back home (US) the first week of March.  Passport expires first week of April.