Read 701 times

• Cmorgan
  • Waygookin

• August 29, 2012, 09:21:24 am
Teaching adults/business English
« on: August 18, 2019, 04:44:25 pm »
Hello,

I have been teaching in Korea in all public schools for a few years but would like a change to teaching adults, specifically business English since I studied business. But all I seem to find in the job postings boards are split shifts positions from hagwons that don't have good reviews, and people tell me how hard and stressful it was for them. Does anyone have any good/positive experiences teaching adults/business English? How was it and how to did you go about finding the job? I appreciate any recommendations on hagwons/companies. Thanks in advance!! 8)

• oglop
  • The Legend

• August 25, 2011, 07:24:54 pm
    • Seoul
Re: Teaching adults/business English
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2019, 05:00:11 pm »
you'll be best off if you have an F visa. most business english jobs are part time, and you'd be unable to do that on an E2 visa

the british council are the best for teaching adults full time. i've heard a lot of negative things about the korean adult hagwons, though (the ones with split shifts, like you mentioned)

• Cohort 2019
  • Adventurer

• August 17, 2019, 08:09:23 pm
    • 90S.- 0'E
    more
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2019, 05:17:01 pm »
Apply here: https://www.jobpagoda.com/en

Teaching adults, especially higher-ups and CEOs, can be frustrating.

SLE Business 1    (Pre-Intermediate)  Students use their fundamental English language skills to develop their business English skills. Students will build confidence in speaking, and begin to cultivate their business skills by applying both established and new language to everyday situations.
SLE Business 2    (Intermediate)  Students continue their development of practical business English skills and language. At this level, students will be able to conduct a meeting, hold a negotiation, and make a presentation suitable for a native counterpart.