Read 395 times

• HappyPlanetAbuser
  • Super Waygook

• May 30, 2019, 11:30:16 pm
    • in my car polluting your air
    more
Pensions
« on: June 12, 2019, 03:57:59 pm »
Has anyone in Korea given this a second thought?
Are the pension payments comparable to what one would receive working back home? I've been wondering about this several times when discussing pay in Korea and say in NZ for instance.
Who's ready for another 4 years of Trump 2020!

Re: Pensions
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2019, 10:38:33 am »
As a Brit I'm not entitled to the pension refund but after 10 years of work (which I expect to complete) I'll have a Korean pension waiting for me when I reach the appropriate age. However given the state of the global economy, climate change, and the various unforeseen crises that can happen between now and future decades I've given up relying on it or comparing it to a UK pension. As a complete layman I'm unqualified to make predictions but I wonder if there'll even be government pensions by the time I'm eligible. I've considered making voluntary National Insurance payments back home to contribute but since I'm living abroad long-term I'm exempt from free NHS care even if I pay the NI. Eventually I decided to rely on building my own investments to ensure I can retire with a reasonable income.

tl;dr Considered it but don't trust myself or anyone else to accurately predict the state of pensions that far in the future. I'll cash out if and when I get the opportunity.

• HappyPlanetAbuser
  • Super Waygook

• May 30, 2019, 11:30:16 pm
    • in my car polluting your air
    more
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2019, 11:06:02 am »
Are you saving up yourself?

I still have 35 years to go I think, but North EU seemed climate wise a more sustainable place to live than a future scorched Korea. Why would you say you would not be entitled to the 120 pounds a week State Pension ?

My worries over my pension was one of my reasons to go back.