Read 441 times

• Nokcha
  • Super Waygook

• August 22, 2012, 02:37:27 pm
    • Seoul
Do you have any contact with parents
« on: May 08, 2019, 07:25:30 am »
I'm curious about how much parent contact NETS have with parents. I have no parent contact in my public school other than the occasional hello when I see them in the corridors.

How about others? And, if you do, is it generally positive? negative? I hear an a lot about how crazy Korean parents are but I've not actually ever seen it in action. I was a teacher at a private school in the states, so I know how crazy parents can be (as well as supportive).

If you comment, would also mention what your teaching situation is. Hagwon, private school, international school, public school.

Thanks!

• thunderlips
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• June 07, 2012, 10:01:55 am
    • South Korea
Re: Do you have any contact with parents
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2019, 07:39:31 am »
Public school- I only usually see parents on special days i.e. graduation, opening ceremony, open classes, etc. It is usually just a pleasant hello. A few parents have decent English, so they may chat but not always. One time a parent thanked me because her son said I was his favorite teacher, only happened once though :)

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2019, 07:40:33 am »
in all my time here, I've only had good, positive contact with parents and that is working in the countryside elementary, middle and high schools.  one farming family used to give me lift up the road, about a kilometre, to the middle school I worked in, as I taught their oldest daughter, son and now youngest daughter through elementary, middle and high school and I've always met them at their child's graduation.  Really nice family.